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1. Mandatory Reporters  

Mandatory reporters are required to complete a minimum of two hours of 

training on dependent adult abuse within six months of employment and every 

five years thereafter. 

 

Community - DHS 235B.3(2) 

 

A. Mandatory Reporting. Iowa law dictates that certain professionals are 

obligated to report suspected abuse, Iowa Code 235B.3(2).  A person 

who, in the course of employment, examines, attends, counsels, or 

treats a dependent adult and reasonably believes the dependent adult 

has suffered abuse, shall report the suspected dependent adult abuse to 

the department.   

Persons required to report include all of the following: 

1. A member of the staff of a community mental health center; 

2. A peace officer;  

3. An in-home homemaker-home health aide;  

4. An individual employed as an outreach person;  

5. A health practitioner;  

6. A member of the staff or an employee of a supported community 

living service, sheltered workshop, or work activity center;  

7.  A social worker;  

8.  A certified psychologist 

Iowa Administrative Code 441—176.4 

176.4(1) Mandatory reporters shall: 

1. Report suspected abuse of a dependent adult within 24 hours of 

becoming aware of an abusive incident. 

2. Make a written report within 48 hours after an oral report. 
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176.4(2) The reporter may use the department’s Form 470-2441, 

Suspected Dependent Adult Abuse Report, or any other a form that 

meets the requirements of Iowa Code section 235B.3. 

176.5(2) The report shall be made by telephone or otherwise to the 

department of human services.  When the person making the report has 

reason to believe that immediate protection for the dependent adult is 

advisable, that person shall also make an oral report to an appropriate 

law enforcement agency. 

 

 

B. 235B.3 (3)(a)  If a staff member or employee is required to report 

pursuant to this section, the person shall immediately notify the 

department and shall also immediately notify the person in charge or the 

person's designated agent. 

C. 235B.3 (3)(b)  The employer or supervisor of a person who is required to 

or may make a report pursuant to this section shall not apply a policy, 

work rule, or other requirement that interferes with the person making a 

report of dependent adult abuse or that results in the failure of another 

person to make the report. 

D. Reporting Procedures 

Reports of suspected abuse in the community shall be made to the local 

Department of Human Services (DHS) offices, or 800/362-2178.  The 

local phone numbers and fax numbers can be found at the DHS website: 

www.dhs.state.ia.us/# 

Click on “Public Information” Click on “Contact Us” 

 

THIS CONCLUDES CHAPTER 235B 

 

 

 

NOTE:  If someone needs immediate protection, dial 911. 
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Facilities & Programs – DIA 235E.2 

A. Mandatory Reporting.  Iowa law dictates that certain professionals are 

obligated to report suspected abuse.  Iowa Code 235E.2(2) A staff 

member or employee of a facility or program who, in the course of 

employment, examines, attends, counsels, or treats a dependent adult in 

a facility or program and reasonably believes the dependent adult has 

suffered dependent adult abuse, shall report the suspected dependent 

adult abuse to the department. 

Iowa Administrative Code 481—52.1 

1. Staff Member  means an individual who provides direct or indirect 

treatment or services to residents in a facility or program.  Direct 

treatment or services include those provided through person-to-

person contact. 

2. Direct Treatment or Services include those provided through 

person-to-person contact. 

3. Indirect Treatment or Services include those provided without 

person-to-person contact such as those provided by administration, 

dietary, laundry, and maintenance. 

4. Specifically excluded from the definition of “staff member” are 

individuals such as part-time volunteers, building contractors, repair 

workers or others who are in a facility or program for a very limited 

purpose, are not in the facility or program on a regular basis, or do 

not provide any treatment or services to the residents of the facility 

or program. 

B. Iowa Code 235E.2(3)(a) & IAC 481-52.2(2)(a) & (b) If a staff member or 

employee is required to make a report pursuant to this section, the staff 

member or employee shall immediately notify the person in charge or 

the person's designated agent who shall then notify the department 

within 24 hours or the next business day of such notification.  If the 

person in charge is the alleged dependent adult abuser, the staff 

member shall directly report the abuse to the department within 24 

hours or the next business day.  
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C. IAC 481–52.2(2)(c) Nothing in this subrule prevents a mandatory reporter 

or any other person from notifying the department directly of any 

suspected abuse. 

D. Iowa Code 235E.2(3)(b) & IAC 481-52.2(2)(d)  The employer or supervisor 

of a person who is required to or may make a report pursuant to this 

section shall not apply a policy, work rule, or other requirement that 

interferes with the person making a report of dependent adult abuse or 

that results in the failure of another person to make the report. 

E. IAC 481-52.2(2)(e) When the person making the report has reason to 

believe that immediate protection for the dependent adult is advisable, 

that person should also immediately make an oral report to an 

appropriate law enforcement agency.  

F. Reporting Procedures Incidents of abuse in facilities or programs are 

investigated by the Department of Inspections and Appeals (DIA).   

Reports can be registered with DIA through one of the following 

methods:  

 Call the toll free complaint intake line:  (877) 686-0027  

 Fax the report to (515) 281-7106 

 Via the internet using the online form at  

https://dia-hfd.iowa.gov/DIA_HFD/Process.do  

 Submit by regular mail to:  

Iowa Department of Inspections and Appeals 
Health Facilities Division/Complaint Unit 
Lucas State Office Building, 3rd Floor 
321 East 12th Street 
Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0083 

 

THIS CONCLUDES CHAPTER 235E 
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2. Immunity from Liability (235B.3(10) & 235E.2(7)): 

A person participating in good faith in reporting or cooperating with or assisting 

the department in evaluating a case of dependent adult abuse has immunity 

from liability, civil or criminal, which might otherwise be incurred or imposed 

based upon the act of making the report or giving the assistance. The person has 

the same immunity with respect to participating in good faith in a judicial 

proceeding resulting from the report or cooperation or assistance or relating to 

the subject matter of the report, cooperation, or assistance.  

3. Legal Responsibilities, Rights and Sanctions – Mandatory Reporters 

A. Responsibilities 

 Shall report suspected dependent adult abuse orally AND in 

writing 

 Shall complete two hours of training within six months of initial 

employment and  2 hours every 5 years thereafter [Iowa Code 

235B.16(5)(b)] 

 Must report to law enforcement if immediate protection of 

dependent adult is advisable 

 Must cooperate with DHS and/or DIA  

B. Rights 

 To receive a copy of the notice of finding of the report 

 To request and receive a copy of the report for founded and 

unfounded incidents. (Iowa Code 235B.6(2)(b)(6) and 235B.6(3) 

respectively) 

 Immunity from liability civil or criminal [(Iowa Code 235B.3(10)] 

 To remain anonymous when the disclosure of the reporter’s 

identity would be detrimental to the person’s interest.  [441 IAC 

176.10(3)] 
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C. Sanctions (Iowa Code 235B.3(12), 235E.2(9) & IAC 481-52.2(4)) 

 A person required by this section to report a suspected case of 

dependent adult abuse who knowingly and willfully fails to do so 

(within 24 hours [IAC 481-52.2(4)]) commits a simple 

misdemeanor. 

 A person required to report a suspected case of dependent adult 

abuse who knowingly fails to do so or who knowingly interferes 

with the making of such a report or applies a requirement that 

results in such a failure is civilly liable for the damages 

proximately caused by the failure. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Permissive Reporters & Procedures 

A permissive reporter can be a mandatory reporter who is acting outside of their 

employment in making their report.  A permissive reporter is also anyone who 

believes a dependent adult has suffered abuse.  This includes the general public.    

IAC 441-176.5(1) & (2) states each report made by someone other than a 

mandatory reporter may be oral or written. 

5. Reporting Suspected Dependent Adult Abuse to DHS 
(Iowa Code 235B & IAC 471-176) 

When dependent adult abuse is suspected an oral report must be made within 

24 hours and a written report must be made within 48 hours.  Remember the 

timeframe is when you first suspect abuse, not necessarily when the abuse may 

have taken place. 

 

 

 

NOTE: HIPAA prevents the release of information about patients to anyone 

other than the legal representative of the patient.  In cases of suspected 

abuse, HIPAA waives this rule and state law mandates such reports are 

made. [45 CFR 164.512] 
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DHS Reporting  

A. DHS Intake Form 470-0657 (Oral Report)  Use this as a guide for the 

information the intake worker will be asking during the oral report.  

Complete the form as much as possible and refer to abuse indicators and 

examples provided in the handouts.  Take care to include: 

 Name and address of dependent adult 

 Names of all parties involved 

 Reasons dependency is suspected 

 Name of alleged perpetrator / caretaker 

 What type of abuse is suspected 

 Why you suspect abuse 

B. Dependent Adult Abuse Notice of Intake Decision Form 470-3944 

This form will be sent to the mandatory reporter indicating 

whether the report was accepted for referral or rejected.  

Typically the form is received within 10 days. 

C. Suspected Dependent Adult Abuse Report Form 470-2441 (Written 

Report) 

Within 48 hours of the oral report a written report shall be submitted.   

1. Suggestion:  Within the 24 hours requirement, complete the 

written report and then make the oral report.  On the written 

report, note the date and time the report is made as well as the 

name of the individual receiving the report.  Ask the intake 

worker for the fax number and indicate the written report will be 

faxed as soon as the oral report is complete.  This will assist DHS 

in getting a more clear picture of the situation. 

The written report presents, in detail, reasons for concern.  It can 

 

NOTE: The following forms that will be discussed may be found in the 

participant handouts. 
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reinforce the oral report and ensure all the information shared 

was recorded accurately.  It is wise to maintain copies of these 

forms in a secured confidential file. 

2. Completing the Report  

REPORT INFORMATION:  If the victim does not have a phone or 

cannot use a phone, or has communication issues note such on 

the form (and during your oral report).  Make sure the address 

and phone number is correct.  If a rural or hard to find location, 

directions to the home would be helpful. 

a. Person is dependent because:  Review the definition 

of dependency and word statements in alignment with 

the definition.  Use portions of the actual definition 

within the report if applicable and customize with the 

victim’s dependency issues.   Such as what 

physical/mental limitations does the victim have which 

make them dependent upon others for assistance AND 

how does the dependency relate to the suspected 

abuse?  Such as, Mrs. Smith is wheel chair bound and 

cannot make transfers without the assistance of others 

nor can she safely exit her home without assistance 

from others in the event of an emergency. 

b. Type of abuse noted:  Check all that apply. 

Information about the suspected abuse:  Attach 

additional pages to thoroughly present the issues.  

Include any information, including photographs, which 

will assist the DHS protective worker.   

c. Caretaker:  If more than one caretaker is involved, list 

them on a separate attached page, answering the 

requested form questions.   

REPORTER INFORMATION:  Fully complete this section 

so the DHS protective worker may contact you for 
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further information and to send you information 

regarding this report. 

3. Submit:  Make a copy and submit the report or preferably, fax it 

to the local DHS office after making the oral report. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

D. Adult Protective Notification 470-2444 

As a mandatory reporter DHS is required to notify you in writing as to 

what action was taken regarding your report.  If you should disagree with 

the report, the notice provides information on how to appeal. 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 

6. Reporting Suspected Dependent Adult Abuse to DIA 
(Iowa Code 235E & IAC 481-52) 

When dependent adult abuse is suspected an oral report must be made within 

24 hours or the next business day.  In addition, federal law requires that a 

written report must be made within 5 days.  Remember the timeframe begins 

when you first suspect abuse. 

A. IAC 481-52.2 (2) (f)  A report of suspected dependent adult abuse shall 

contain as much of the following information as the person making the 

report is able to furnish: 

1. The date and time of the incident; 

2. The name, date of birth and diagnoses of the dependent adult; 

3. Whether the dependent adult sustained an injury and, if yes, 

whether photographs of the injury were taken; 

 

NOTE: If you know of other mandatory reporters who are aware of the abuse 

situation, let them know you are or have made a report and they are 

listed as collateral sources attaching additional sheets of paper if 

necessary.  However, being listed as a collateral source in another’s 

written or oral report, does not meet the requirements of the other 

mandatory reporters reporting the same situation.    

 

NOTE: If you wish to receive a copy of the unfounded or founded report (highly 

recommended), complete the form on the back of this notification and 

return it to DHS. 
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4. The nature and extent of the dependent adult abuse, including 

evidence of previous dependent adult abuse allegations; 

5. A list of the staff members working at the time of the incident, 

including each staff member’s full name, title, date of birth, 

address and telephone number; 

6. The alleged perpetrator’s full name, title, date of birth, social 

security number, address and telephone number; 

7. Other information which the person making the report believes 

might be helpful in establishing the cause of the abuse or the 

identity of the person or persons responsible for the abuse or 

helpful in providing assistance to the dependent adult; and 

8. The name, address and telephone number of the person making 

the report. 

B. IAC 481-52.2(3)  A report shall be accepted whether or not it contains all 

of the information requested.  When the report is made to any agency 

other than the department, that agency shall promptly refer the report to 

the department.  

C. Reports can be registered with DIA through one of the following 
methods:  

 Call the toll free complaint intake line:  (877) 686-0027  

 Fax the report to (515) 281-7106 

 Via the internet using the online form at               

https://dia-hfd.iowa.gov/DIA_HFD/Process.do    

 Submit by regular mail to:  

Iowa Department of Inspections and Appeals 
Health Facilities Division/Complaint Unit 
Lucas State Office Building, 3rd Floor 
321 East 12th Street 
Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0083 

 

 

 

 

NOTE: Medicaid Fraud: If you suspect Medicaid Fraud, call: (515) 281-5717 or 
(515) 281-7086 
Medicare Fraud: If you suspect Medicare Fraud, call 800-447-8477 or 
email HHSTips@oig.hhs.gov  
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D.  Separation of Victim and Alleged Abuser (Iowa Code 235E.2(10) & IAC 

52.6)  The facility or program shall separate the victim and the alleged 

abuser immediately and shall maintain that separation until the 

department’s abuse investigation is completed and the abuse 

determination is made. 

 

 

7. The Evaluation Process 

 There are four types of jurisdiction over the formal evaluation/investigation of 

alleged dependent adult abuse cases. 

A. DHS.  For abuse that occurs in the community, the Department of Human 

Services is responsible to respond with an evaluation/assessment of the 

situation. 

B. DIA.  For abuse that occurs in a facility or program (hospital, long-term 

care, assisted living, elder group home, adult day services, etc.), the 

Department of Inspections and Appeals is responsible for conducting an 

investigation. 

C. Law Enforcement.  When the abuse constitutes a crime, law 

enforcement must be notified and conduct its own investigation.  

D. Joint Investigations.  Sometimes, a situation may involve dependent 

adult abuse and a criminal offense.  In those instances, parallel 

investigations are conducted by DHS (community) or DIA (facility or 

program) and the local law enforcement agency. 

8. Report Conclusions  

The assessment / evaluation has three possible outcomes: founded, unfounded, 

or confirmed, not registered. 

A. Founded.  Requires a preponderance of evidence (51% or greater) that 

abuse has occurred.  Founded reports remain on the Central Abuse 

Registry for 10 years from the date of the last founded report.  

NOTE: Facilities that participate in the federal Medicare or Medicaid program 
may be subject to additional federal requirements regarding separation. 
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B. Unfounded.  Requires a preponderance of evidence (51% or greater) 

that abuse has not occurred.   

C. Confirmed, Not Registered  

1. Under 235B (DHS)  A report of dependent adult abuse that 

meets the definition of physical abuse or denial of critical care to 

a dependent adult by a caretaker which the department 

determines is minor, isolated, and unlikely to reoccur shall be 

collected and maintained by the department as an assessment 

only for a five-year period and shall not be included in the central 

registry and shall not be considered to be founded dependent 

adult abuse.  However, a subsequent report of dependent adult 

abuse that meets the definition of physical abuse or denial of 

critical care by a caretaker that occurs within the five-year period 

and that is committed by the caretaker responsible for the act or 

omission which was the subject of the previous report of 

dependent adult abuse which the department determined was 

minor, isolated, and unlikely to reoccur shall not be considered 

minor, isolated, and unlikely to reoccur. 

2. Under 235E (DIA)  IAC 481-52.3(3)(a) & (b) Reports of Abuse that 

is minor, isolated, and unlikely to reoccur. 

a. Minor, isolated, and unlikely to reoccur – first 

instance.  A report of dependent adult abuse that 

meets the definition of physical abuse assault, 

unreasonable confinement, unreasonable punishment, 

or neglect of a dependent adult which the department 

determines is minor, isolated, and unlikely to reoccur 

shall be collected and maintained by the department of 

human services for a five-year period, shall not be 

included in the central registry and shall not be 

considered to be founded dependent adult abuse.   
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b. Minor, isolated, and unlikely to reoccur – subsequent 

instance(s).  A subsequent report of dependent adult 

abuse that meets the definition of physical abuse, 

assault, unreasonable confinement, unreasonable 

punishment, or neglect of a dependent adult that 

occurs within the five-year period, and that is 

committed by the same caretaker may also be 

considered minor, isolated, and unlikely to reoccur 

depending on the totality of circumstances. 

9. Appeals of Dependent Adult Abuse Reports under 235B and 235E 
235B (DHS) 

With the exception of nurse aides, any subject of a report (or that person’s 

attorney) may request an appeal within 6 months from the date of the notice of 

the finding (Iowa Code 235B.10).  Subjects of a report are: 

 The dependent adult 

 The dependent adult’s guardian or attorney 

 Individual responsible for the abuse 

 The attorney for the individual responsible for the abuse 

A nurse aide who is the subject of a report may request a hearing within 30 days 

from the date of the notice of the finding.  (IAC 441 – 81.16(6)) 

235E (DIA) 

If a request for an appeal is filed by a caretaker within fifteen (15) days of the 

issuance of the notice of a founded determination of dependent adult abuse, 

DIA shall not place the caretaker on the central abuse registry until final agency 

action is  taken. 

If a caretaker fails to request an appeal of a founded determination within 

fifteen (15) days, the caretaker shall have sixty (60) days from the issuance of the 

written notification of the abuse findings to file an appeal pursuant to chapter 

17A. 

Under 235E, appeals of determinations other than  founded, 235B.10 applies 
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10. Criminal and Abuse Background Checks (135C.33) 

All facilities and agencies that provide care to dependent adults must complete 

criminal and abuse background checks on prospective employees.  If the 

applicant has a criminal or abuse background, the employer may request a 

records check evaluation be completed by DHS, to determine if the person may 

be employed even though there is the criminal or abuse background. 

When evaluating criminal or abuse backgrounds to determine employability, 

DHS considers the following: 

 The nature and seriousness of the crime or founded child or dependent 
adult abuse in relation to the position sought or held; 

 The time elapsed since the commission of the crime or founded child or 
dependent adult abuse; 

 The circumstances under which the crime or founded child or 
dependent adult abuse was committed; 

 The degree of rehabilitation; 

 The likelihood the person will commit the crime or founded child or 
dependent adult abuse again; and 

 The number of crimes or founded child or dependent adult abuses 
committed by the person involved. 

If you suspect Medicaid or Medicare Fraud  

Medicaid Fraud: Call (515) 281-5717 or (515) 281-7086 

Medicare Fraud: Call 800-447-8477 or email HHSTips@oig.hhs.gov  

11. Prevention Of Additional Abuse -- Notification of Rights (Iowa Code 

235B.3A) (Briefly Summarize) 

235B.3A If a peace officer has reason to believe that dependent adult abuse, 

which is criminal in nature, has occurred, the officer shall use all reasonable 

means to prevent further abuse, including but not limited to any of the 

following:  

A. If requested, remaining on the scene as long as there is a danger to the 

dependent adult's physical safety without the presence of a peace 

officer, including but not limited to staying in the dwelling unit, or if 

unable to remain at the scene, assisting the dependent adult in leaving 

the residence and securing support services or emergency shelter 

services. 
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B. Assisting the dependent adult in obtaining medical treatment 

necessitated by the dependent adult abuse, including providing 

assistance to the dependent adult in obtaining transportation to the 

emergency room of the nearest hospital. 

C. Providing a dependent adult with immediate and adequate notice of the 

dependent adult's rights.  The notice shall consist of handing the 

dependent adult a copy of the following written statement, requesting 

the dependent adult to read the card and asking the dependent adult 

whether the dependent adult understands the rights: 

1. You have the right to ask the court for the following help on a 

temporary basis: 

a. Keeping the alleged perpetrator away from you, your 

home, and your place of work. 

b. The right to stay at your home without interference 

from the alleged perpetrator. 

c. Professional counseling for you, your family, or 

household members, and the alleged perpetrator of 

the dependent adult abuse. 

d. If you are in need of medical treatment, you have the 

right to request that the peace officer present assist 

you in obtaining transportation to the nearest hospital 

or otherwise assist you. 

e. If you believe that police protection is needed for your 

physical safety, you have the right to request that the 

peace officer present remain at the scene until you and 

other affected parties can leave or safety is otherwise 

ensured. 

The notice shall also contain the telephone number of the local 

emergency shelter services, support services, or crisis lines operating in 

the area. 
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12. Dependent Adult Abuse is a Crime 

 

 

 

Example:  Dependent adult abuse by financial exploitation may not be meet the 
criteria if the perpetrator is not a caretaker.  However it may fall under 
theft or extortion in the criminal code section. 

A. Criminal actions can be tried as Dependent Adult Abuse under Iowa 

Code 235B (effective July 1, 1996).  Refer to the Participant’s Handbook 

for details. 

B. Other criminal charges which may be used to pursue dependent adult 

abuse include: 

1. Assault                                          10.  Manslaughter 

2. Neglect or Abandonment             11.  Theft (degree depends on 

3. Wanton Neglect or Nonsupport           value of property taken) 

4. Sexual Abuse                                 12.  Extortion 

5. Detention in a Brothel                  13.  Robbery 

6. Indecent Exposure                        14.  Burglary 

7. Incest                                             15.  Forgery 

8. Fraud                                             16.  Embezzlement 

9. Murder 

Offenders convicted of lesser crimes (misdemeanors) can serve up to 

two years in prison.  Felons may serve up to fifty years.  For a complete 

listing of sentences, please refer to the visual. 

C. Review 726.7 - Wanton neglect of a resident of a health care facility & 

726.8 - Wanton neglect or nonsupport of a dependent adult.  These laws 

are both in the criminal Code section and address emotional / 

psychological abuse.  

NOTE: Point out to participants that the perpetrator’s action or inaction may 
still be considered a crime if all elements of dependent adult abuse 
cannot be met or proven. 
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